New roleplay mod comming up! HUGE PICS!

Discussion in 'Role Play Servers' started by nafrayu, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. l337Espeon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    FaceWAN Network Administrator
    Location:
    USA
    That server has been there, it's running on the new server so I can test and see what doesn't work. There are a few issues I need to work out before I can move all the servers to the new Corei7 server.
     
  2. XxobrianxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    W00t test server :)
     
  3. Zombiedude101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So we will have a different server soon, yay!

    One more thing. How do I stop trhe hl2.exe thing crashing gmod 9?
     
  4. l337Espeon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    FaceWAN Network Administrator
    Location:
    USA
    There is no way, since the game uses hl2.exe, it means something crashed gmod9. It just doesn't like some computers and crashes more for some people than others, the game is just very buggy.
     
  5. Zombiedude101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ^ Sad Face

    Anyway how do I join the rp server?
     
  6. Ownage Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So this whole time you have been asking for changes and you don't even know how to get on the rp server? What kinda noob are you?
     
  7. Zombiedude101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I mean the new rp server. When I try to join it doesn't.
     
  8. Zombiedude101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also, add a cash machine prop, so shopkeepers can put their money inside it. That way, you can steal the cash machine and take the money out of it, if the shopkeeper didn't buy an electronic lock that is.
     
  9. Zombiedude101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just found this facepunch post about an rp experience. Try to make the rp like this.

    Me and another friend were on our server being cops, when a third friend joined, and was just being a civilian. Things were going pretty bad, with your usual bombings, dumb shootings, and swep spawning, and I was primed to shut down the server, when I came across a body with a note on it. It read "Prepare yourselves Hometown police, your about to see the population drop." At first I just lawled at this, and then went back to business, but this kept going on, and I was starting to wonder what was going on. Then I saw someone being attacked, and ran up to help the guy. The murderer turned and ran when he saw me, but I was still able to question the victim. The guy described a perfect image of my friend that had joined just recently. We knew what we had to do... We ran up to his house and knocked, and he yelled at us "Uhhh, GO AWAY, THIS uhhh is ummm PRIVATE PROPERTY, YEA THAT'S IT!" but we didn't care and busted down the door, which exploded in our face, we survived and ran inside. The crazy guy was shooting at us with a shotgun, but we took cover and I shot some his way while my other bud ran up and cuffed him. He continued to yell obsinities, while we checked all the rooms. In the bedroom, we went into the closet, turned on the light, and what did we find? A fricken massacre... There were two bodies hanging from hooks, one in a bathtub, and another strapped to a chair, blood everywhere. We beat the shit out of the guy, and then threw him in the brig. He killed himself later when an unused nade rolled into his cell.

    Instead of using Hl2 Weapons, use Counter strike weapons, as they don't look scifi.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  10. Mr.Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    I think

    I think another good suggestion would be that if anybody is in the area of your property / houses (your land) You could kill them, Like its a feature if there on your property theres no kill limit. because alot of the time when I'm on rp i see people invading peoples houses and the owner shoots them and then the owner of the property gets arrested. If you could code that it would be badass :)
     
  11. XxobrianxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How about purchaseable turrets for the house? That shoot in a certain radius.
    The owner may set the radius, but there is a maximum radius limit.
     
  12. Mr.Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    Agreed

    That's exactly what I want. Because in my last post.. I dont feal like reading it again lol. But yeah. That would be awesome.
     
  13. Zombiedude101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I agree with this idea.
     
  14. nafrayu Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I just found out about propper - gonna make some props for build rp! :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  15. nafrayu Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I finally turned them into props - build rp is now entirely possible :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. XxobrianxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    LOL, You are good with Hammer..
    And you finally learned how? That is kind of funny xD
    prop_dynamic
     
  17. nafrayu Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Turning regular brushes into prop_physics can't be done using hammer alone, you use prop_dynamic if you want static props with animations (sliding doors).
    Normally you would turn them into func_physbox by using 'tie to entity' if you want a physics brush.
    Sadly, source doesn't like func_physbox beeing spawned alot in multiplayer games - You get an overflow error after spawning like 50 of them.
    That's why i compile my wall-brushes using propper, so we can go on with build rp and have regular props instead of halfway static brushes (i used func_brush before, because func_physbox crashed the hell out of gmod). :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  18. [FaceWAN] Flareon Teh Flamer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Full time Flamer
    Location:
    where ever my paws take me
    you forgot windows ._.
     
  19. nafrayu Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'll add more props soon, don't worry ;)
     
  20. XxobrianxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What about your new roleplay mod?
    With the jetpacks and stuff?